We are the global organization of national parliaments.

We currently have 179 Member Parliaments and are working for universal membership. Our Members range from huge nations like China, India and Indonesia, to the tiny States of Cabo Verde, San Marino and Palau. More than 6.5 billion of the world’s 7 billion people live in countries whose parliaments are our Members.

Our Organization, created by parliamentarians in 1889, has grown into a vibrant global entity committed to promoting democracy, equality, human rights, development and peace. Our Members work together for positive change, both in their own countries and at international level. 

Our Member Parliaments come in all shapes and sizes, with a rich history of traditions and cultures. All share a commitment to the core remit of the Organization. All believe we are made stronger by working together.

All parliaments are welcome to join us if they are lawfully established national bodies operating in States or aspirational States recognized by the UN. On rare occasions, Members are suspended due to the unconstitutional dissolution of parliament, or their rights are suspended for the non-payment of assessed contributions. Decisions on admitting, readmitting and suspending Members or their rights are taken by our Governing Council.   

We also have 12 Associate Members—mostly parliaments drawn from groups of nations, or similar bodies. They include the Arab Parliament, European Parliament and other parliamentary organizations from Africa and Latin America.

Geopolitical groups were first established within the IPU at the beginning of 1950s.
Our Associate Members are international parliamentary assemblies and similar bodies.
We have granted permanent observer status to about 70 organizations, enabling them to attend and actively participate in our twice-yearly Assemblies. 
Member parliaments
  • Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi
  • Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic
  • Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Estonia, Eswatini, Ethiopia
  • Fiji, Finland, France
  • Gabon, the Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guyana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau
  • Haiti, Honduras, Hungary
  • Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy
  • Japan, Jordan
  • Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan
  • Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg
  • Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States of), Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar
  • Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic
  • Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu
  • Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Viet Nam
  • Yemen
  • Zambia, Zimbabwe